Dictators in History – Idi Amin

Jane Bwye

Historian, Tim Taylor is no stranger to my blog, and today I’m privileged to host the first in his new series. In my honour he’s decided to feature one of Africa’s most unpleasant and notorious villains, a dubious honour. But like all men, Idi Amin did not start as a monster. In fact, a member of my family played rugby against him in the past…

tim

Hello Jane, many thanks for hosting me today!

My novel Revolution Day follows a year in the life of Latin American dictator Carlos Almanzor.  Carlos is a fictional figure and is not based upon any particular individual. Nevertheless, his life and career share many elements with those of real dictators and in some cases I consciously drew on historical events in writing the novel.

I thought it would be interesting to explore, in a series of blog posts, the lives of some real-life dictators, and…

View original post 1,050 more words

Leave a Reply

